top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

Of few dreams, yet to be savoured.



So many unseen things to see and love to experience in this world that I haven't. In the midst of this unpredictable future I face, I think there would be nothing better that taking a trip to every place I haven't been. But it seems, right now that millions of things I want from life would remain just dreams.


I imagine a quiet journey through the European countrysides, the Tuscany (many many more). A silent travesty through the ancient castles and the long forgotten history. Eating exotic, exciting food as I travel through the silent unseen cities. Italian countryside and beautiful nights under the stars. What about the evenings in the balcony of a Paris apartment, few evenings of listening to guitar players down in the street. Eating the creamiest of the pastas and the trip to the hills, snow filling my vision. A musical journey to Tibet and sathkol ( Tibetian music and momos, duh). A magical Christmas, better than any of my favorite Christmas movies, in somewhere snowy. Harry Potter world.


Beyond the idea of places, it's the idea of a carefree life submerged in endless Love. The idea of the people I would meet in this life, the ones I'd lose and the ones who would hold on to me for a little longer. It's the idea of a late night dance in my room as I slowly sip wine, listening to some classics like 'Can't help falling in love with you'. It's the idea of watching the Ingmar Bergman classics that I have discovered to be depressing me (he made me depressed once upon a time, that man). The early morning runs, late night Maggi (Lots of cheese and peas). It's the idea of sitting in a cafe with a book, fresh coffee and hot chocolate filled croissants in my hand. It's the idea of making my mother proud. It's the idea of living in many places that I want to. It's the idea of a soft life in the hills in a cottage with a huge fireplace, a wild life in the city, a noisy life in the countryside singing songs loud, a wavy life by a beach. It's the idea of finding my people. It's the idea of watching Phineas and Ferb on a carefree Sunday afternoon ( kid vs Kat or Dexter's lab or Jackie Chan would do too. Powerpuff girls). It's about figuring out why I love history too much, Mahabharata and Ramayana (this show I loved as a kid is running on TV and Ram and Sita get married. Now as a kid, this was how I wanted to get married, I burst out in laughter at how Iam more likely to get married in my night shorts). It's the intoxicating idea of touching lives in a way that someone, somewhere, someday remembers me and misses me. Its that idea of someone, somewhere, terrified at the idea of losing me. It's the idea of a sleepover with my close knit circle, at my place or one of ours where we just joke into the night talking about our lives. It's the idea of finding the people whom I can talk to about all the ideas of the universe, aliens and rebirths. Maybe a few stories (A lot actually). It's about finding a way to eat enough cake without putting on weight. The idea of watching a guilt pleasure TV show on my laptop in my room, pizza and Pepsi on hand on a tiring day after college or work. Maybe some cheese stuffed garlic bread. It's about making that perfect chutney my grandpa makes ( it's a mix of tomato, onion and dried chilli called vatthal ). It's about growing my own food and living self independent and saying fuck society and actually meaning it. The idea of publishing just one book and being a part of making just one movie till leaving it behind for good. The dream of getting lost for a day in the midst of an old Richard Linklater film or a John Hughes reverie. The dream of using the camera like Terrence malick would want. The idea of finally understanding Andrei Tarkovsky and why Russian artists mean so much to me (sometimes I think it's the cold and the snow that makes their minds think the way they do). Iceland! Black sand beach and the Aurora Borealis!


It's the dream of finally finding where I belong to, finally. It's the dream of finally letting go and the dream of finally finding the perfect words to express emotions and everything I think. It's the dream of accepting life if it doesn't play out as lovely and dreamy as I want it to, like I have written (Both above and my novel).

Comments


bottom of page