top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

A trail down the old songs, forgotten films. Basically, music.




I don't know if anyone has actually gone back to see 'Missiamma', starring Savitri Ganesan and Gemini Ganesan. This movie, of course was triggered by Mahanati and watched it before a week. Now, none of today's shitty romantic comedies can be compared with the originality and comedy in the romance of 'Missiamma'. I think the song 'Vaarayo vennilave' is registered in many minds. Another song that lesser people must have stumbled upon is 'Brindhavanamum Nandhakumaranum', an entrancing song I never expected. Any one would want a marriage and a kid, no matter how terrified they are if they just listen to 'Sri Janaki Devi' in that film. I wish I had edit the next cousin who gets Valaigappu to that song.


Then my angsty self sat down to watch many Savitri-Gemini Ganesan films including Kalathur Kannamma. Man, I was surprised how this type of drama existed even back then. Kamal Hassan was so refreshing and I have to say I cried too much, as usual. Now Many would remember 'Dum Dum en kalyanam and kalyana samayal sadham', but the songs 'Aha Inba nilavinile', "unakkagave naan', 'Needhana ennai alaithathu' are amazing. not even today's romance song will match the sizzle of these songs. damn.


Then ended up the usual route down the 'Kalaiye un Vizhikooda kavi paadudhe' and back to the usual 'Kanne kalaimane', 'Rasathi unna' and the rest of late beauty. Then I don't know how 'Kaara Attakaara' and 'Mental manadhil' started playing. something about the thaththaththarikida in it is so energetic. Then the depressing 'Not sho shit lately' Taylor swift came on with 'my tears ricochet'. nothing would beat lana with her "summertime sadness and dark paradise'. Somehow have stopped listening to 'Born to die', must have been months since i've heard that one.


Maybe all i need is to take a car trip with stereo rocking with some energy, maybe some Eminem. That man always pops in when i need motivation or a push. Vaazhga da nalla.



Comments


bottom of page