top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

Another dive into Upstream Colour.

Updated: May 19, 2022




I don't know why this a part 2 of the previous post, because here, it is different. I have actually finished the screenplay for the feature. At least the first draft. And guess what, it is not shitty at all. I had just said that I didn't have to worry about Cinematography and editing till I finish the script. Now that it is in my hand, It is time for me to worry.


I did find my own way to a conveyable visual language, somewhat dreamy. somewhat hazy. This time, I don't think I'll let this become that shitty college cam project, running around with a bunch of wannabe kids. this time, it has to be more, organized, more focused. If I was somehow having enough focus to write 70 minutes of cohesive screenplay, and that too not that shitty, maybe I would have it in me to do this through with the same focus. illa, apdinu nane enakku sollikirena?


I haven't really been seeing movies, have stopped that somewhere along the years. But I know enough to say that most college projects and short films nowadays are made with pyschotic concepts. they think that's the only and most interesting thing that exists. they show those dark visuals, dark room, man writing, confusing plot, all of this to an extent that it has become the norm, the cliche. Well, I have never really liked those in the first place.


there is always something original for exploration and it comes from the pre existing pool. it is how it is made, that makes way for originality. I love immersive movies, with an atmosphere that traps you inside that, no matter if it is three hours even. But I've seen people who can only watch a 1 and half hour movie. I don' t know why exactly it is just 75 minutes in this, maybe we should let the tale begin and end where it has to.


so, what left? Going back to the top, fine tuning the flow, ensuring it is crisp. I don't really give a damn about how I've written the actions, if it is me that is going to be making, I can ace it even without a script. Should go back, edit this screen play, the novel and the book on farming.


three stuff, completed in my hand. waiting to be published, distributed. this, I don't think It will be produced by someone else, I don't think I am confident enough for that. Maybe I'll just involve one or two people I know, who actually give a damn about actual minimal film making and not for the sake of it. the ones who can actually internalize it.


wow, novels are better than this. it has a single person input and we have an output. for this, it takes an entire crew, places to get it done.


I don't like the concept of short films anymore, it just doesn't make any sense to sit there for 5 or 20 minutes, getting no experience from watching it. it means we get nothing out of making it because the aim is for the audience to experience the intention I made it with.


I am thereby ending Why da Shane Carruth with thanks da Shane Carruth. somehow if I hadn't watched that film, I wouldn't have sat to write. this much, I am sure of.


Dei God, irukana ketuko. Enakku friends lam venam, crew podhum. adhum urupadiya irukka rendu peru podhum. paathu pannu da.

Comentários


bottom of page