top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

Better than Bond, I present to you Guy Ritchie's Solo.




Okay the best thing this week is this film 'the man from U.N.C.L.E'

Genuinely good, perfect spy thriller, with a dash of humour. Perfect balance. Have always like guy Ritchie. Now this becomes my second most favourite of his films. Such a pleasant way to approach this overused, over analysed, as a matter of fact, a very used scratched cd type of subject. Very fresh. Better than Bond, Bourne, Jack Reacher and shitty mission impossible endless sequels. Man, I wish they make a sequel for this, but apparently they aren't greenlighting it because of its box office disaster. People don't really have a taste.


Well, the leads, nothing to say, they aced it. I think I like both Napoleon Solo and Illya. Saby, ah, that girl is good. Okay never thought I'd ever say this, but yeah, Henry Cavill is freaking hot. And no, he wasn't this hot as superman, maybe as Clark Kent, with glasses. Here, it was just some sass and performance and yup, a clean win. I for this matter had been groaning at my friends who watched superman back in those years when I was in 11th grade and gush over him. Well, also back then, I hated the superhero stories, never watched any, until last week.


Oh, the way Solo speaks, pausing between the words, the way he ends every sentence, chef's kiss. Okay, I'm probably simping too much for my own good. Let me get back to life, to real life, a horror film that is given a very comedic narration. And where the characters are neither comedic, not horrific, except everyone is just plainly stupid, barely human.




Okay, rewatching the movie again, if only to see Solo's subtle expressions and dialogues. தேன் வந்து பாயுது என் காதினிலே is true when he is speaking. Ugh.

Comments


bottom of page