top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

College and friendships, the nature


I've been thinking about my college. Maybe it would be good to write something about by college friends. Everyone thinks college is that time when you'd find life long friendships and relationships. I'm not going to tell that they are wrong because I thought they were wrong and it was impossible for a long time. In this long time I figured about the unstable nature of human life and concluded and basically judged life.


It depends on the people who would last a lifetime. I know the friends in my class whom I'd forget after I leave college. But there are people, three people whom I'm sure I wouldn't. It would last a lifetime and I'm sure about it.


All my friendships begin with the other person putting too much effort and me pulling away, except in one or two situations. But when I try to or put efforts that friendship will fuck up, so I've learnt to go with the flow. These three people, I hadn't put in any effort but was my usual self, where I usually care about the people I love. That was just how it happened. I didn't like them, but I just loved them. Especially the one girl there, with whom people struggled to relate to. I won't lie. I did kind of dislike her in the beginning but as time went by I think I learnt to love her eventually. Eventuality is something strong, mind you. Somehow through time, I learnt to love them and like them and accept them. Since it had taken many months and almost two years for one of them, I think I'm sure that we'll stick together for a long time. Because it's exhausting and tiring to get to know people so well and to open up enough for them to know you. I'd not like to repeat it again. Which was exactly what one of them said when I was talking to her yesterday.


It happened like this. We talk over the phone and my general exhaustion that comes after didn't come. That's how I knew that we were going to be this for a long long time. Through time, like married couples who are forced together,I think we four learnt to handle each other. We held discussions on how to handle and help someone in the group who weren't okay or down. Like me and one of them talked for hours to figure a way out to handle the other.


When one constantly runs into issues with her boyfriend and shuts down, let's call her S. She is difficult to handle when that happens and when her family stresses her. The other three, we always find a way to make things better. I drop her late at night at her house after a good pasta and icecream at Chocomans. When the next, we'll call her M has issues with her ideas and fears of a future, somehow I can handle it the best because I've been there and moved on from them. When the other, the one who tries to deal with her jealousy of people better than her in photography or her ex best friend and his girlfriend and her mood swings, we seem to handle. But even when I lose my patience with her I can just let Me take over. Simple. When the next, me starts to go ballistic and scream and swear about my H.O.D or the department or the structure of society or the classmates I hate or my ex or my crush or that assignment or that submission, they always seem to handle me way better. Like I owe it to them, a part of my college sanity. I wonder how they were able to handle me when I was in my room, under a huge blanket and a sweater crying my eyes out. They laughed at those bloodshot eyes, the bags under eye and made me see what small problems they were and just ordered biriyani for us to eat.


I remember them hyping me up when I turned on the video for my college class. I was so comic and funny and honestly it felt good when they made fun of the people we detest which is almost all of the others.


And then there is my first ever roommate let's call her C. I don't know if I'll ever meet someone this caring. Then the one I goof around with and check guys out together let's call RH. She is the sunshine. Then let's call him S. The one I went to unwatchable movies with. Then let's call him A. The one I learnt teamwork from. There are so many now that I begin counting. It doesn't matter if it is same or it's just something was. All that matters is that I was once, if ever. And then my school, let's call him H. The first and last school crush. Then G, the one girl who is forever a go to. She's the one I might go to masters with. Then A and D. Okay that's it, I'm glad. No need to think more.


Somethings I have to value and I've learnt this is one. Girls friendships are always something different that others. People underestimate the power of a girls comraderie. There is generally cringe like one of them telling us that we'll have to be working a lot for her wedding which would happen in two years and then fixing for all of us a date to get married and the usual girl cringe stuff. But slowly I have started to see beyond the cringe and overlook it.


The only reason I want college to reopen is them. So that we can go back to that usual film in the VR mall, burger King at food court and an milkshake and keventeers before leaving for home. Or that evening in chai kings. Or the evenings at a shop near college as we eat cheese Maggi and cold boost for me. Those goodbyes in the parking lot.

Comments


bottom of page