top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

Me and food, an eternal love story.


ood is a word, but for me, it's an emoshion (cringes at my choice of words). One of the rare topics I'll gush about when iam speaking. But nobody understands food ra.


This mediocre pic here above doesn't make even a bit of Justice to the images and colours that spin in my mind. Food is a word, but for me, it's an emoshion (cringes at my choice of words). One of the rare topics I'll gush about when iam speaking. But nobody understands food ra.


Now, when I begin to disliking food, I'll probably know that Iam disturbed and destroyed beyond recognition.


Okay how do I even describe ice cream?!? There are so many awesome flavours and I truly discovered Ice cream in the few months before I left Chennai. A kilometer away from my room in Chennai there is this Ibaco. But hey, my shop isn't that, why would I waste too much money. My little ice cream paradise is just opposite to that. There is this assortment of a lot of ice creams paired with toppings of all kinds. Everything you can imagine like choco chips, rainbow sprinkles, silver balls and what not. There was chocolate sauce, vanilla squeeze sauce and I'd love to go back and have some. These mixed with the unique blackcurrant blend in that shop, Iam in heaven. Used to go there with a friend, after college every night.


White sauce pasta and chocolate fudge with ice cream. Just no words. This shop is just two kilometers from that room, which we again go after college. Surely I think I eat when I'm depressed and after a depressing day in college, all these were like salvation. This white sauce pasta is really so cheesy and creamy, olives and corn in it. Lip smacking.


Momos. How do I begin to talk about momos. The nights after 9 or 10, going to that shop that's just a few hundred meters from my room with a friend who lived next street. That friend Momos, dipped in that red concocment, that is steamy even when you put it in your mouth. Wah!


Waffles with Ice cream at a shop near Besant nagar beach. The steaming hot waffles with hot choco sauce and cold I've cream.


Next is the popcorn at sathyam cinemas. Now, that seasoning is phenomenal. There is another little cinema place a few kilometers from that room that gives the same popcorn at half the price. Ah I miss both theatres and the popcorn.


The boiled corn, sprinkled with chillies and spices. The Frankie at the railway station.


Rasgulla at my local mithai kada. Nothing more to say here. Oh and those 'boli'. It's a maida bread filled with jaggery in the middle.


Parotta with that kurma ( dipping it in kurma ) and chilli parotta.

Huge Puris with some masal.

The Kerala appam with channa kadala curry.


My grandpa's red chutney that's made of tomato, onion and dried chillies, with Dosa. This is like taste orgasmic. And that podi Dosa with sambhar. The bread halwa my aunt makes.


Most of all the Rasam and potato mashed. With dhal curry. And lots of ghee. Add this with an afternoon before TV ( yeah they put TV in my house and I am wasting time on it after almost a decade ). Kichdi with ghee, the go to food, easiest to make.


Cheese Maggi, creamy with a lit of cheese. Little bits of carrot, peas and capsicum. Peas are the best thing the world.


Coffee, early morning in these cold days. My aunt has started to do it in the of way, filter coffee. With fresh roasted beans .


Atho at a Burmese relative's place. That soupy noodly mix.


Does anyone remember the mushrooms that grow in fields and forests. I used to have them as a kid and the last time I ate it was when I was fifth grade. Then all the mushrooms I ate came from shops and packages. But nothing came close to the wild mushrooms curry and the unique taste it has. The mushrooms of today are just blant and blunt. Still searching and waiting for the day I'll get to eat those ( but it's not available anywhere ). Sad.


The panneer butter masala my Ma makes with catch masala and the butter naan my aunt makes (thank God for an aunt that was married off to North India).


Jigardhanda when I visit Madurai, occasionally. Dindugul Venu biriyani. Trust me, when you eat this you'll ask what is thalapakatti biriyani.


The kachori and hot jalebi at Ritchie street. Pani Puri shop at parrys where my brother and I had four plates each. The lemon tea and Ice burst, that I know is shit to my health. Well it's been months. The Oreo milkshake shop near my brothers house.


The upma aunt makes with lots of ghee and peas. Yeah, I like upma and have been judged enough.


The days of eating idli with milk and sugar. Ah, those days. Seems like this list will go on unending. But I have learnt to judge how I feel in the way I want to eat food or avoid it. Too interested in eating it, then I might be depressed. Don't want to eat at all, then iam sad. Kind of just want to taste it, then iam trying to get out of depression. If I feel like eating a small quantity but too many items, I'm normal. Wow I know me too well, I guess.


I know, looks like a foodie but that's just decent euphemism. It's called thinni pandaram really ( my language ). Okay, now Iam hearing the voice 'ennamo idhellam kedaikra Maari persura' but I should say 'kedaikadha karanathala dhana pesuren'.



Comments


bottom of page