top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

Is there anything sadder than immortality?

Updated: May 19, 2022


I

w o n d e r

how everyone will be the day Ilayaraja dies. Maybe people think some people are immortal. Maybe they are.


The only thing that redeems Kamal Haasan in my eyes is that very last frame of utthama Villain.


Everytime an artist diesthe final scene of utthama Villain flashes before me. That majestic king. The audience. The high elation and that euphoria.


I still wonder how it would be the day he dies.


I still wonder why Iam always blank when I can see many social media posts that say they are crying and sad. Maybe I never really attach myself.


Or maybe my way of experiencing emotions have changed. They used to be a little violent and fully blown, like when your heart thunders when you get that text. Now, it's more stable. Calm like a river surface. Not too many eddy currents.


Death. It will come. God this post is not about celebrities who die. I've seen so much death to fear it. And then I have enough strength to accept it. So finally here I am, knowing full well my grandma, grandpa, ma, uncle could die. Accepting it. Slightly w o n d e r i n g what I would do not hold on to. That's all.


But I don't really sit there sad like the million social media posts say. I think I celebrate them.

Irfan Khan.


There is a list of that has who are going to die. Ilayaraja, scorcese,


And I anticipate. When I anticipate people's death, it's easy to handle. Ah, same with life. I now can calculate and anticipate many things. I can handle them well then.


I wonder, what worth it is to live a life that everyone has obtained gold from. Drops of gold. Drop by drop. Nectar. Being a gem. Again, it's about us.


"Amuthenpathaa visham enbathaa.. Illai amuthavishamenbathaa….

En kaadhalae en kaadhalae Ennai enna seiya pogiraai Naan oviyan endru therindhum nee Yen kannirandai ketkiraai"


Someone suddenly forwarded on WhatsApp that's why this song.


I wonder if it is the randomest post jumbled up and confusing. Well it depends. On who you are.

Comments


bottom of page