top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe K Cafe

The coincidence paradox.

Does synchronicity exist? Or is it all a matter of coincidence?.



I've been wondering what would have happened if simple things that happened in life out of rare situations, that had a very little chance of happening didn't happen. The coincidences that happens are too perfect for me to believe that it's just a coincidence.


It's is the simple instances of seeing numbers like 9:11 Everytime I look into the watch or my phone when I intentionally check time. It had happy for almost fifty times that got me a little jiffy. It was around the same time I was obsessed with the theories and my assumptions of 9/11 incident. It could be the number of times I saw 4:20 every morning I walked out of my house early in the morning for a jog during my school days. It could be the time I met a guy on a train to Chennai and met him again on my journey back in my train. It had a chance probability of what less than 1%. It could be that I have two kids in my family named 'Tejas', for different reasons. It could be that I see certain names on name plates, boards when I cross a city.


Somehow after moving into a house a few weeks back, I have just met the neighbors, the ones who live in the ground floor. It was quite a shock when I saw that me, my sister and the two children of the people downstairs share the same name, at least a part of it. But, with different spellings. I have a Shri, my sister has a Sri. The people downstairs they have a Shree and Sree. Of course, I cringe at any other spelling for the name. But another coincidence is me and the elder one downstairs, my sister and the younger one downstairs share the same age.


More than once have I seen that after watching a film and calling my brothers one of them would have seen the same film that week. One day when my brother had come to the neighborhood of my college and we went out for a smoke, I was shocked when he said "I have made peace with being nobody". Because that exact day I had written it on my diary during a class. Exact same words.


It could be that I met a guy in Hyderabad in whom I liked and I discovered he was the classmate of one of my closest friends in Chennai. It could be that whenever I open a book that Iam reading, it often opens to the same page number. And often what that page has resonates with my life.


Okay, maybe it is all synchronicity. But it also lacks meaning. Maybe I have no source code that can make sense of the pattern. Ennamo pa. Thinking of everything as a coincidence sure helps me sleep better. But this makes me think that we don't really want to find answers for things and meanings to things and reasons to things (we just tell ourselves we are really searching but we are very good at cheating our own minds) because we won't have peace after that or we won't let ourselves feel the peace that we already have.



コメント


bottom of page